Space, isotropy and winter

It’s not often that I sense poetry in scholarly writing.  An article by Albert Borgmann (2010) referenced in my Winter_reflection describes a morality and sense of realness that comes from being ‘in-formed’ and which we find distinctively in the physical world (and what that means remains Borgmann’s lyrical inquiry). Here in my neighbourhood, there are new snowbanks on the street, it’s still very much winter with temperatures in the double-digits (that’s minus Celsius) and spring, warmth and renewal still feel like brochures from travel agencies.  I observe again and again how grounded I am in my physical world, although increasingly my objects and experiences of inspiration are digital in photos, music, and text.  Nope, no isotropy in my life, I’m certain —  my experience of being alive is fully spatial and more ‘real’ everyday.  However, I am increasingly dissatisfied with the dualism we seem obliged to invoke in interpreting the physical / digital worlds.  I’m still looking for new words and new ways of thinking about what ‘real’ means.  For now, I’ll watch for green shoots and tulips.

Leave a Reply

